A nurse who knits…

August 5, 2009

Blocking sucks…

Filed under: baby,Crochet,Dogs,Knitting — yarnnut @ 4:33 am

I love knitting lace.  I hate blocking it.  I’ve got tons of toys to make it more fun.  T-pins, blocking pads, blocking wires.  But I still hate it and put it off as long as I can.  I’m sure I have finished lace scarves somewhere that just need a good blocking to bring out the lace pattern.  But I digress.

I finished my Hanami stole on July 27, 2009.  So this is not so bad.  But I wanted to get it done and blocked before the baby came.  Because I knew once the baby came, this would have no chance of ever seeing daylight again.  Here are some pictures of the stole being blocked.
P1020609
This is a view of the cherry blossom side.
P1020610

Here’s what the basketweave portion looks like.

P1020611

Notice I used the blocking pads and wires. It took me about 1 hour to get the wires through the edge stitches. Does anyone have a method that is less laborious? I’ve heard of some people weaving a long piece of thread thru instead of blocking wires. That almost sounds worse. The only thing that got me through this exercise was the fact that the stole was going to look great after the block. Sorry for the poor lighting.  I usually like using natural light since my photography isn’t the best.

Here are the stats:
Yarn: Malabrigo Laceweight purchased at Yarning for You in San Marcos. I used two skeins. I actually have a little bit leftover. What to do with it???
Pattern: Hanami by Pink Lemon Twist
This was a very fun pattern.  The pattern is a 12 pager that gives you all the charts and many options.   Melanie tells you what to do if you want to make this all in basketweave or the cherry blossom repeats.  She also tells you a bit about her inspiration for the pattern.   She includes instructions on beading the shawl.  Since I am a chicken when it comes to embellishment,  I have no beads.  Although I’m sure the shawl is stunning when beaded.  My friend Margaret Ann, purchased beads for when she knits this shawl.  I can’t wait to see it. Hint, hint…

I also took some pictures of some handcrafted baby gifts. Margaret Ann gave me this darling hat that she knit out of this new yarn called Sublime.
P1020613
Waldo was not pleased with this hat on his head. Here’s another picture…
P1020616
I also loved the handwritten label that she placed on it.
P1020614

My other dear friend, Gabbies, crocheted this baby blanket.  I love the colors and she wove a ribbon thru the edging.P1020612
So cute. When the baby is finally born, I’ll take a picture of it wrapped in it. In fact, pictures will be taken with everything handmade within the first couple weeks. Look for baby pics…

Speaking of baby, I’m 39 weeks pregnant and trying different things to make the baby come. Today and yesterday, I ate spicy food. I’ve been walking every night but I’m going to start climbing stairs next week if my labor hasn’t started by then. My massage therapist showed me some pressure points to start applying pressure to. Matt doesn’t want the baby to come until after Thursday cause he has stuff going on at work. But it’s never going to be a good time for him. Things come up all the time and if we waited until he wasn’t busy, this baby wouldn’t be born until it was time for him/her to go to college. If anyone has any suggestions, leave a comment. I’ll be trying nipple stim/sex next week even if I don’t feel like it.

I’m knitting Sweet Socks. They are a simple pair of stockinette socks with two cables. Nice and simple. I’m using my yarn purchased on my last baby free weekend get away. Much better than the Froot Loops that I attempted to make. Sometimes, the yarn dictates what you knit. No picture yet though… I also finished my star shaped blanket that I crocheted out of Snuggly Wuggly DK. I forgot to take a picture so you’ll see that in my next post.

I’m also knitting a tunic from a Filatura di Crosa book, Summer 2006 that I purchased from Yarning for You. Elann had a sale on a whole bunch of yarn that was used in that book and I bought enough yarn to knit a sweater, that tunic, and a tank. So much for trying not to buy yarn. Sigh….

Well, this post has been long enough. The weather here in San Diego has been fabulous. Nice and warm at night. I can go out on my walks without a sweater! That’s almost unheard of since I’m always cold.

2 Comments »

  1. Your wrap looks lovely! Wear it in the best of health! I agree, blocking is a pain. I have two shawls I finished last year and still haven’t blocked them!!! Guess I’m just waiting for the blocking fairies to come and work their magic. Haven’t arrived yet!!

    Comment by Sue H — August 5, 2009 @ 12:52 pm | Reply

  2. The most sure fire method I know of is to plan a vacation.

    Next best is sex, especially if you’ve made special romantic plans that will be particularly upset if your water breaks! 😉

    Comment by Suzanne (Yarnhog) — August 5, 2009 @ 11:03 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

