A nurse who knits…

March 29, 2009

A never ending blanket…

Filed under: Uncategorized — yarnnut @ 10:37 pm

I started this blanket way back on January 10, 2009. It was a few days after my first prenatal appointment and I wanted to have a receiving blanket for my little one. I bought 4 skeins of gray Berroco Comfort and used the pithy instructions of Elizabeth Zimmermann to start this blanket. It ended up much larger than I anticipated. It’s a full 50 inches square. Much too large to use as a receiving blanket or car blanket for the baby. I’ll use it to tuck my little one into his or her crib. I encountered a problem with the blanket as I was nearing completion of the first square.

I was running out of yarn!!! OMG… I used 3 of my 4 skeins on the first square. In a panic I ran back to Yarning for You and found that they did not have anymore gray in the dye lot I bought previously. So I high tailed it to Common Threads in Encinitas. They didn’t have the dye lot either so I decided that the other squares needed to be different colors. I picked jewel tones of dark red, blue, and royal purple. It is my opinion that these colors will work for either sex. Although, I have this feeling that I am going to have a girl.

The knitting went on for months. Miles and miles of garter stitch. But all in all, I think the blanket came out beautifully.
03-29-2009-1
Here it is full size on my patio table.
03-29-2009-21
Up close view of the garter stitch.
03-29-2009-31
A close up of the color transition.

I am actually quite proud of this project.  Although I think of garter stitch as incredibly boring, it is also incredibly complex looking.  This project took a lot of stamina for me.  Normally a project this long would have resulted in me putting it away and working on something else.  Also, I think I finished the blanket well.  The seams barely are noticable.  EZ calls for a provisional cast on with a 3 needle bind off at the end so the knitter only has to weave in ends.  I missed that whole provisional cast on bit and decided that I would just seam it using a whip stitch.  And it still came out well.

I am almost sorry that this project is done.  I said almost.  As I knit this blanket, I kept thinking that each stitch in this blanket represents love for my unborn child.  And at my last stitch, I thought “Wow, I must love my baby a lot.  There must be thousands of stitches in this blanket.”  So… for my future baby.  I love you.  So much already that I can hardly wait until you get here.  I have many hopes and dreams for you and look forward to sharing the love I have for your daddy with you.  You are so wanted as this blanket can attest to.

I do plan on knitting or crocheting another baby blanket.  But one much smaller.  The next baby project is “Lillie’s Little Sweater”.  I’ve made two for other babies and want to knit one for my own.  I still have other projects waiting and I am going to finish those up this week so you’ll see them in a later post.

2 Comments »

  1. You did a fabulous job!

    Comment by Knitters Delight — March 30, 2009 @ 4:12 pm | Reply

  2. Wow! I didn’t realize you were pregnant. Congratulations! That’s a very nice baby blanket. I love that you didn’t use pastels for it.

    Did you ever finish the Feather and Fan shawl?

    Comment by Sabrina — April 7, 2009 @ 12:25 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

