A nurse who knits…

January 24, 2009

So many changes…

Filed under: Dogs,Knitting,Life in general — yarnnut @ 1:00 am

This month has brought so many changes both to me and my new hubby and the country.

First off, the inauguration of Barack Obama was riveting. I was fortunate to have the day off on January 20th so I got to watch the whole thing. President Obama gave me a feeling of inspiration and hope for the country’s future. And the fact that he started working on his campaign promises the very next day reassured me that he would get as much done as humanly possible. And for the record, I thought Mrs. Obama looked perfect at the inauguration and all the balls. I keep seeing tv segments criticizing her fashion choices. In the first place, who cares? In the second place, she looked great.

As for me, I’m trying to get a per diem position at my hospital. This means that I won’t get health benefits but I will get paid a lot more and work 2 days a week instead of 3. This will give me lots of flexibility. I’m not so concerned about the health benefits because I got added onto Matt’s insurance after we got married. I don’t know why more nurses don’t do this if they don’t need benefits. I do get to keep contributing to my retirement accounts because I’m still an employee of Sharp.

I’m also in the process of getting my name officially changed. What a long drawn out process… (Matt and I better stay together forever. What a pain if I ever had to change my name back. J/K). The first step is to get your name changed at the social security administration. To do that you need the official copy of your marriage certificate. No problem you say? It takes the State of Hawaii takes 3 months to process marriage certificates. I didn’t get mine until after the first of the year. So when you get the marriage certificate in your hot little hand, you fill out a form that is available on the social security website and either mail or take your certificate, your original social security card, and another form of photo id to the social security office. I did that last week. I was horrified when I drove into the parking lot. The lot was full. Ugh… I’m in for a wait. There is a weird check in process. I got accosted by a security guard because I checked myself into the computer instead of him. There was a computer at the front door. A card at the entrance said to check in with the security guard. No security guard was present so I checked myself in. When the security guard came in, he took me out of my seat, gave me a lecture about how I didn’t follow directions, and searched my purse for dangerous weapons. Thankfully, I left my Addi Turbos at home. I mentioned that I would have followed directions but he wasn’t present. His explanation… smoke break. So… I sit for what I expect to be hours based on the number of people in the room. 10 minutes later, my number gets called and I show my documents to the clerk. Voila, my social security card is in the mail. I received my new social security card earlier this week and headed into work to change my name there. Next step, the DMV. I decided that I didn’t want to wait in that line at all so I made an appointment. Next available appointment is in Feb. Oh well.

Back to the fun stuff… knitting, I’ve never been much of a one project kinda gal. I typically have more than a few projects on the needles at any one time. For a short time, I was finishing projects left and right by concentrating on one project at a time. But I’ve regressed. My current project is the garter stitch blanket from Elizabeth Z’s book, Knitting Workshop. It is extremely easy but for some reason took me 4 tries to get it right. Her directions/patterns are more like recipes and if you misread one line, you’re royally screwed. The idea behind this blanket is to create triangles by increasing/decreasing by one stitch every other row. I misread and decreased by one stitch on each row. When i was almost done with the triangle, I realized that it didn’t look like the diagram. I ripped the whole thing out and started again. This time I realized that I needed to decrease every other row. Unfortunately, I decreased by two and got a weird looking triangle. I ripped again. Then did the same thing over again. The fourth time is when I got it right. But I have a good reason…. But first here is a few pictures of my newest project.
One quarter of the blanket done

Here is one quarter of the blanket finished.

I’m knitting this blanket with the wonderful, washable Berroco  Comfort in grey, maroon, dark blue, and purple.

Here’s a closeup of the blanket on the diagonal.

I have another project.  I’m going to have a baby sometime in August.  10 months after my wedding.  LOL.   We’re not planning on finding out the sex of the baby until his/her birthday.  So every baby thing I knit will be neutral or my vision of neutral.  I don’t particulary like the traditional baby colors like baby blue, pink, or yellow.  For the blanket I’m making (which is for our baby), I chose jewel tones.  I got funny looks at the LYS that I bought the yarn from but I don’t care.  Maybe the next thing I knit for the baby will be baby green or yellow.  But I think this will be a distinctive baby blanket.  Although, this blanket looks huge.  But I’m not frogging it again!  I think I’d kill myself with a knitting needle if I did that again.

Here’s a ultrasound picture of the baby at 8 weeks.  You can’t see much but I told my parents by putting this in a frame and waiting for them to figure out what it was.

I’m at the end of my 10th week now and so far, I feel like I’ve been having a pretty easy pregnancy. I am fatigued but I’m considering myself lucky because I’m not experiencing morning sickness. It’s hard cutting out my nightly glass of wine and my morning/afternoon cups of coffee but I’m adjusting. I don’t look any different and my doc thinks I’ll start showing around week 20 or so. I’ll start taking pics of my belly when I look different. Waldo and I have become fast cuddle partners during our frequent naps.

Until next time….

6 Comments »

  1. Congratulations! I had our first ten months after our wedding, too. And I totally hear you about changing your name. I didn’t change mine officially until we’d been married seven years and had two kids. I always used my husband’s name, and even changed it on my passport (which was really simple at the time), but it was such an ordeal changing it with the DMV that I just never bothered. It ended up taking multiple trips to the DMV AND getting a doctor’s clearance, because I had had a seizure episode five year earlier and my license had been suspended, but I never knew! If we ever split up, he’s going to have to change HIS name!

    Comment by Suzanne V. (Yarnhog) — January 24, 2009 @ 1:18 am | Reply

  2. congrats!!!! lucky you, no morning sickness. the holidays were terrible for me, and as chinese new year approaches, i’m not quite out of the woods with it either (i’m 2 weeks ahead of you). 🙂

    Comment by ruth — January 24, 2009 @ 7:50 am | Reply

  3. congratulations! What exciting news. And awesome that you don’t have morning sickness, you lucky girl. Enjoy those naps. 🙂

    Comment by Kristina — January 24, 2009 @ 2:50 pm | Reply

  4. What a terrific project to be working on. It will be a work-in-progress for many many years. I’m so happy for you.

    Comment by Sharon — January 24, 2009 @ 7:11 pm | Reply

  5. OMG! Congrats on the baby news! How exciting?!?!? You so have to keep us posted!!!

    Comment by Pam — January 26, 2009 @ 6:21 am | Reply

  6. Congratulations! What great news. I think the baby blanket color is a perfect choice.

    Comment by Knitters Delight — January 26, 2009 @ 6:03 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

