A nurse who knits…

November 20, 2008

Hightail it to BevMo…

Filed under: Uncategorized — yarnnut @ 11:15 pm

for a great deal on wine. I love me a great glass of wine. Or even a so- so glass of wine hits the spot most of the time. Matt and I got to know each other via deep conversation aided by more than a couple bottles of two buck Chuck. For those who are totally clueless about two buck Chuck, this was a surplus bottling of Charles Shaw wines that was sold by Trader Joe’s a few years ago for $1.99, hence the name two buck chuck. There was merlot, chardonnay, and Cabernet. Now that my palette has evolved slightly, I don’t know if two buck chuck is still available. Over the years, Matt and I have done several wine tasting weekend get aways to Napa, Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo, and of all places, Niagra Falls in Canada. Good times… they are often accompanied by a glass of vino.

But I digress… BevMo is having their $0.05 sale. Basically, you buy one bottle of wine for regular price and the next bottle is $0.05. I picked up 3 more varieties to add to our wine fridge. Which if you do the math, adds up to 6 bottles. I plan on picking up more since the sale is going on for 2 more weeks. Yippee! I bought some Domaine Alfred Pinot Noir the 2006 variety. Matt and I have had the 2004 version at the winery a few years back and enjoyed it. I also got some Tapiz Malbec from Argentina. I also got a rose version of Malbec. Unfortunately, I forgot the name of the winery and am too lazy to look. In case you can’t tell, I love Malbec. It’s somewhat similar to Pinot Noir which I’m extremely partial to as well. I used to love merlot but now, I kinda turn my nose up to that. I do like my white and dessert wines as well. What’s not to love about wine.

While I snapped up bottles of wine, I walked down the beer aisle. I was pleasantly surprised to see a variety pack of Leinikugel’s. Leinie’s are brewed in Wisconsin and they were one of the culinary delights available in Michigan. I drank at least a 6 pack a week of the Leinie Red’s. I saw the variety 12 pack was $12.99 which was kind of expensive but that’s the cheapest I’ve seen out here in California. Into the cart it goes. I wheel the cart down a few feet in the refrigerator aisle and what do I see?

Coconut Porter

Coconut Porter


This beer is the elusive coconut porter brewed by the Maui Brewing Company. This beer is hard to find in Maui! I was in total shock to find it hear in San Diego. BevMo also carried the Bikini Blonde and the IPA but I picked up the porter. I paid $11.99 for a FOUR pack people. It’s that good. Definitely the most I’ve spent on beer outside of a bar/club.

Finally, an end to my exciting trip to BevMo. Besides alcohol consumption, I’m still knitting. I have 3 WIPs that seem to have no end. My Feather and Fan Shawl is at row 169. So close, I can almost taste it. I’m also working on a generic pair of stockinette socks knit with Berroco Sox. They are a fair isle pattern that I’m usually not too fond of but these aren’t bad. My Somewhat Cowl is coming along. I’m knitting up the second sleeve. I slightly modified it with long sleeves. Not really a mod, since Wendy B. gives instructions but different from most that you see on Ravelry. Still not sure on the yarn/project combo.

Here are some random pics from the wedding that I haven’t shown yet. Mostly of the church.
img_5385
Me and Matt at the church.
img_5262
Matt and I with Father Gary
img_5235
Thanking one of our littlest guests for coming.
10-25-2008-47
Random waterfall during the Drive to Hana.

3 Comments »

  1. congratulations! from one knitter nurse to another…

    Comment by jessica d — November 22, 2008 @ 2:11 am | Reply

  2. Wow–cheap wine and good beer. You are a wonderful bad influence.

    Comment by sarah-hope — November 22, 2008 @ 6:20 pm | Reply

  3. lovely wedding pics, and amazing waterfall!!

    regarding the wine, have you tasted Greco de Tufo? It’s a wonderful white wine and generally not VERY expensive…. 🙂 yes you are a bad influence, and good company at that too !!

    Comment by Geraldine — November 28, 2008 @ 2:09 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

