A nurse who knits…

July 23, 2008

Weekend update and Matt’s home from the hospital

Filed under: Life in general — yarnnut @ 10:08 pm
Tags: , , ,

Matt had an anterior cervical fusion on Monday to fix some discs that he herniated during the accident we were in in January. He had some weakness in his right arm and an annoying pain in his neck and shoulder. He decided to go thru with the surgery after a lot of research and questioning.

He’s doing alright. On Monday afternoon after the surgery, he had a hard time getting over the anesthesia. Since the surgeon went thru the front of his neck, there was a lot of windpipe manipulation going on and his voice was hoarse. That has since went away. He does have a soft collar that he needs to wear and a 2 inch scar on his neck. It’s not really that bad since it looks like the doctor cut into a neck crease. He also went home with some steroids, pain meds, and a muscle relaxer to take. He also has orders to rest up until next week. Let’s see how successful I am in keeping him quiet. He already feels like he can go to work on Monday. Luckily he needs a doctor’s note to go back and he doesn’t have an appointment until next Wednesday.

While he was in surgery and recovery, I had hours of waiting time. I of course brought my knitting and was knitting on the Lotus Blossom Tank from Interweave knits. I’m still on the bottom of the tank where it consists of lace. Many of the knitters on Ravelry who have done this tank said that the they did 5 lace repeats. I kind of want to do that because I’m afraid of it being too short. I however, only have 2 skeins that were called for in this pattern for this size. Damn it, I wish I had bought another skein! Unfortunately I bought this yarn in 2006 at Threadbear. I doubt they would have another skein in the same dye lot.

Matt and I spent the weekend at the Catholic Engaged Encounter. It’s a requirement to get married within the Catholic Church. At first I was really dreading it but we ended up having a great weekend.

I forgot my camera at home so I didn’t get to take pictures of the beautiful grounds. We were at the Mission San Luis Rey which is the 18th mission church started by Father Junipero Serra. It is known as the “King of the Missions” because it’s size and scope. It served as a religious center of course but it also was a working cattle ranch and the living quarters for Native Americans. I highly recommend a tour of the museum church for any history buffs.

Besides the beautiful quarters, Matt and I got to talk about many things. Love, family, money, etc. Things we’ve talked about but needed more detail. This weekend was cool because there were no distractions; no TV, no work, no dogs. When are we ever going to have time like that to devote to each other? I think a weekend engaged encounter is something that all couples should undertake. The presenters for the weekend stressed that in the Catholic Church, marriage is forever and this is one way they are helping engaged couples to stay forever married. I don’t think a simple weekend will do that but it certainly gets one thinking about issues that will either keep you together or thinking that you need to postpone or cancel.

Hopefully I’ll have some pics for my next post.

3 Comments »

  1. I hope Matt is feeling better. I’m sure it will be a challenge to get him to rest as much as he should.

    I think it would be nice to go to a married couples encounter. Not that I think we “need” it, but it sure would be nice to have that kind of uninterrupted time together. 🙂

    Comment by Kristina — July 24, 2008 @ 1:50 am | Reply

  2. The encounter weekends are great. I have been to marriage encounter twice – the weekends are like mini honeymoons and a chance to renew your commitment to each other. Hope Matt is feeling better soon, luckily he has a good nurse taking care of him.

    Comment by CPAknit — July 24, 2008 @ 3:02 am | Reply

  3. I’ve been to that mission on field trips a couple of times. I agree, it’s beautiful!

    Comment by Jen Howard — July 24, 2008 @ 10:45 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

