A nurse who knits…

April 15, 2008

Bobmas (the aftermath)

Filed under: Knitting,Nursing,Travel,wedding — yarnnut @ 1:53 am
Tags: , , , ,

I attended the Bobmas meeting at The Grove down in North Park last Wednesday and met a lot of knitters who’s names I know from Ravelry. It’s really fun to put a face to a name:) Hi to Margaret, Tania, Bernadette, and everyone else I met at the Grove. I really hope I get to see them soon.

Besides knitting and talking about knitting, I did a bit of stash and book enhancing. I got my first non-wool sock yarns and I’m really excited to use them. The first one is Schoeller + Stahl Sockina Cotton in a fun colorway. I hope it knits up in stripes.

The second skein is a bamboo blend that is soooo soft and heavenly to the touch that I just couldn’t resist. The Grove had a few really pretty colors and I had a heck of a time choosing just one. But here’s the one I ended up with.

It kinda reminds me of Pink Lemonade with the pinks, yellows, and a bit of lavender thrown in so that’s what I’m calling it. But it’s really called On Your Toes Bamboo. It’s 75% bamboo and 25% nylon.

Unfortunately, I was starting to get bored of knitting socks my usual 2×2 rib method so I picked up Cat Bordhi’s New Pathways for Sock Knitters. Again, the Grove made it extremely hard to resist because all the craft books were 20% off on Bobmas Eve. I have a few socks I really want to knit like Ocean- Toes and Coriolis.

It seems like I’ve been working quite a bit so knitting gets thrown to the wayside. However, I did make some great progress on the Icarus shawl. Like I mentioned in my previous post, I’m knitting it out of South West Trading Co. Infinity which is 100% soysilk. What I didn’t realize when I bought it was that it is cobweb weight yarn. Yikes! It’s about as thin as sewing thread. But the shawl is coming along splendidly. The pattern so far is very easy to memorize. “decrease, yo, dec, knit 7…” is a mantra I’ve been singing to myself as I knit this shawl. I’m on the 3rd set of repeats so it’s almost 200 stitches across. Yikes, it almost boggles the mind until I remind myself that because it’s so light weight, it’s probably not that wide yet. I do have a progress pic but please forgive how it looks. Lace always looks like limp noodles prior to blocking and since this is cream colored, this shawl is no exception.

I have put my Ribby Cardigan on hold until I finish the Icarus but I do have a progress pic on that as well. I’m using Lion Brand Cotton Ease in the old White. I dont’ know what is up with all the white knits that I’ve been doing lately. I actually bought 6 skeins of this prior to the discontinuation of the line a few years ago and just have never got around to knitting with it. But since I have, I actually really like it. I really hope that Lion Brand does not discontinue it again because I will be soooo sad.

As for the wedding, things are going well. I think we’ve picked out our invitations at a very surprising place, Papyrus which is a chain stationary store in every mall. We’ve confirmed the Maria Lanakila Roman Catholic Church in Lahaina and the The Plantation House for our reception in Kapalua afterwards. I’ve booked our airline tickets and am about to book the honeymoon hotels. We’ve decided that we’re going to hop around the island so we’re staying at the Westin in Kaanapali for the first four days, Hotel Hana for two days, then some other less expensive hotel/condo resort for the last four days. I still have no idea where but we’ll do a bit more research. I’m thinking the Outrigger Palms because I heard really good things about that place.

Anyways, I’ll be working tomorrow so I should go off and do some knitting before I hit the sack. I love watching babies being born but it’s such a stressful time, mainly because I’m still learning so much.

4 Comments »

  1. Your Infinity Shawl is spectacular! Congrats for such a great project and for making our yarn look so wonderful. Please send me a picture when you are finished.

    Your fan,
    Jonelle Raffino
    President
    SWTC INC

    Comment by Jonelle Raffino — April 15, 2008 @ 4:01 am | Reply

  2. Wow! Your shawl looks great! And I can’t believe the President of SWTC commented on your blog!

    Comment by Margaret — April 15, 2008 @ 3:32 pm | Reply

  3. The shawl is coming along great! It is going to be so fab once it’s finnished and blocked.

    Sorry I didn’t make it to Bobmas Eve at the Grove. It would have been great seeig you and the sales sounded great!

    Comment by KnittersDelight — April 15, 2008 @ 5:24 pm | Reply

  4. Ooooh, are you going to wear the shawl at the wedding???? That would be beautiful!

    Oh, btw, TAG you are it!

    Check it out at my blog. Tee hee

    Comment by knittingnurse — April 17, 2008 @ 2:35 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

