A nurse who knits…

December 11, 2007

I know when to move on….

Filed under: Knitting,Nursing — yarnnut @ 5:20 pm

Ugh… Minimalist Cardigan is just not working for gauge. I thought I hit the jackpot when I got gauge with the bamboo size 6 addi naturas. Unfortunately that was not to last. I was happily knitting along in the called for moss stitch when I noticed that the back was looking HUGE!!! I was following some tips of pulling the yarn tighter than I usually do after completing the stitch even. But when i measured the back, the piece measured almost 19.5 inches! WTF!!! I guess I can’t do moss stitch to gauge in Cascade 220. My gauge had gone from 5 stitches/in to 4 to 4.5 stitches/in. Yucky. I do have some discontinued Filatura di Crosa Ambra Camel Hair which knits to 22 stitches to a gauge swatch. That might get me to where I need to be. Ugh… But I don’t want to see moss stitch for a while so I might revisit this project sometime next year.

In the meantime, I decided a less frustrating project would be the Central Park Hoodie.
Central Park Hoodie
It was originally published in the Fall 2006 issue of Knitscene, which is no longer available on the website. But I got an email saying that it is available for sale. I bought the pattern for $5.50. I think the whole magazine is $5.99. LOL… Talk about an expensive alternative. Oh well. I remember thumbing thru the issue last year thinking that it didn’t have anything special. For those of you who are curious what is on the cover, you can see it here.

Talk about judging a book by it’s cover. There was at least one pattern that I would knit.
Lesson learned: Sometimes knitting isn’t meant to be. That doesn’t mean you have to give up completely like I’d been doing in the past. I’ve been struggling with gauge for about 3 weeks now. Can you believe it? But in another yarn, I may have something stunning. At least I hope I do.

As for my new job, I’m in my fourth week of orientation. I’ve seen quite a few births and have finally seen the light when it comes to one of the most daunting tasks a new labor and delivery nurse has to learn, the vaginal exam or the VE. On my first day of orientation, my preceptor had me put on a sterile glove and exam a woman who had an epidural. (Thank goodness because I shudder to think what my exam would have felt like to a woman without drugs.) Now since I’d never put my fingers in any other vagina, I had no idea what I was touching. All I felt was warm mushiness. I eventually found the baby’s head but had no idea where the cervix is. For the next couple of sessions, I put my fingers in many vaginas and discussed cervixes, lips of cervixes, thinning cervixes. It was all greek to me. All these vaginas felt like long dark tunnels with no end in sight. And to make matters worse, I have short fingers. When a baby is high in the birth canal, station -2 or higher, I cannot find the back part of the cervix. How did anyone learn how to find the paper thin lip of a cervix or figure out when a laboring mom is complete??? I felt so frustrated that I would never figure it out. But the other day, I started feeling cervix lips and getting exams correct. I figured out what complete means. Yeah!!! Yesterday I got lots of practice reading unreassuring fetal heart rate strips. That means that the baby for whatever reason is stressed by the labor. I had one couple in the morning who didn’t want “a student”. My preceptor and I walked into the room and introduced ourselves to a pushing woman and her mom. The woman’s husband was snoring in the reclining chair. We were pushing with the woman for about 30 minutes when we decided to put a fetal scalp electrode on the baby because we couldn’t get good fetal heart tones with the external monitor on. We explained what we were doing to the mom and proceeded. A few minutes later, we’re still getting a strip that indicates that the baby isn’t tolerating the labor well so we go outside to report it to the doctor. I also tell him that the mom has a temperature and he asks me to start the mom on some antibiotics. I run and get the antibiotics while my preceptor goes back into the room. The dad wakes up and tells my preceptor that he doesn’t want a new nurse sticking things and her fingers in his wife, “practicing.” He said that I could watch but not participate in the care of his wife. Meanwhile, his wife is getting upset with him telling him that we’re fine and to stop making a big deal out of things. My preceptor tells him that I either have to be able to do things because I’m training or that she would get them another nurse. They got another nurse. Unfortunately for this mom and the next one that I took care of, the birth ended up in C sections which neither had wanted.

Hopefully the next time I post, I’ll have some progress on the CPH. I am still knitting the berry socks. They are almost done but I’m just dragging it out…

4 Comments »

  1. Hello!! – All that you posted about OB/G was very interesting – I am currently an ER nurse who has been thinking/trying to get into OB – are you fresh out of school or is this a change in venue? Should I just read a little further back 🙂 – Karrie

    Comment by Karrie — December 11, 2007 @ 7:38 pm | Reply

  2. Sorry to hear about the cardigan! Hope it goes better with the hoodie. I’ve been working on mine for the last few weeks. There’s a KAL blog you can join, too, if you’re interested: http://cphkal.blogspot.com/

    Comment by edina — December 12, 2007 @ 5:17 am | Reply

  3. The CPH is one of my next projects! I found the back issue of the magazine on ebay and I have to say the CPH is the only thing in there I’m going to knit.

    Comment by Bobbi — December 13, 2007 @ 12:28 am | Reply

  4. Wow, it is so refreshing to hear someone talk honestly about what it is like to be learning a whole new area of nursing!!

    Incidentally, isn’t it funny that we, as women, know so little about what our own bodies are like? Having been through labor twice, I imagine that it would have been so much easier to push if I had a better sense of what was going on down there! I had a “little lip” of cervix that I had to push through both times, and I still, to this day do not have a good sense of what that actually means. I have a concept, but that’s about it.

    Good luck in your knitting… I love the Central Park Hoodie. I think it will look great on you!

    Comment by Kristina — December 21, 2007 @ 2:54 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

