A nurse who knits…

September 23, 2007

Doulaing…

Filed under: Knitting,Nursing — yarnnut @ 12:24 am

My boyfriend left to play golf with his buddies in Tijuana last night so I spent yesterday doulaing at UCSD. I got a call from my mentor that there was a 30 yo first time mom who needed us. So I headed in about 11:30. Her goals were to give birth with as little intervention as possible. Sounds like something a doula would love to help out with.

My mentor and I spent the afternoon with the soon to be mommy and daddy coaching, repositioning, and rehydrating. She was a trouper but around 4 pm she ended up wanting an epidural because of the pain. She really didn’t want to get one because she said that it would make her feel like a failure and that everyone in her family would be disappointed in her for having one. She asked my advice and as a doula, I explained that everything in her birth is her choice and we discussed her options. She opted for the epidural and I supported her decision. She gave birth around 10:45 at night and I think that she was satisfied with her decision. Both parents said that my mentor and I were very helpful and that they were glad we were there to share the experience with them. What a great way to spend the day.

Here’s an example when doulas come in handy. While the mommy was pushing, the other doula and I supported her legs and dad was at the head giving encouragement and helping her to get her upper body curled into position. When the head was beginning to peek out, I suggested that dad and I switch so that he can see the baby come out without my big ole head in the way. So we switch places. And… he was alright for a few minutes. After a few pushes, he excused himself and hurried himself away. Awful retching sounds came from the bathroom and poor mommy begins to look green. I held a towel to her forehead and got her a bucket to vomit in if she needed it. She held herself together and told her husband to leave the room if he was going to vomit because the sound made her feel like vomiting. Poor dad… he rinsed his mouth out and took his position at the head again. The nurse asked him if he needed a moment outside by himself and he said that he was ok. He asked “Gail, can you take her leg? I don’t do so good down there.” I asked if he wanted to switch when her face was visible because of course I didn’t want to be selfish about watching a baby come out and he replied, “No… you can stay there. I’ll look from up here.” I offered a mirror because mom had said earlier that she wanted that. “Will you be alright with the mirror or do you want me to warn you so you can get out of the way?” “That will be fine. I think I’m safe from up here.” I was kinda laughing in my head. This is why women have babies.

The baby was a girl, about 8 lbs and one of the cutest babies I had ever seen. But then again, I think every baby I see getting born is the cutest baby. She had the cutest little nose and these alert eyes that looked around wondering what in the world was going on. Then after the baby was out, she was placed on her mother’s chest and she started breastfeeding immediately. She just knew what to do! I get to do the followup call next week and I think everyone is going to be just fine:)

I came home exhausted around midnight last night after not having any dinner cause I didn’t want to miss any of the action. I wanted to have a burrito from a taco shop near my house. I thought all taco shops were open 24 hours a day. But… alas, this was not meant to be. They were closed. I ended up eating french fries from Carl’s Jr. which weren’t bad at midnight.

I had a few hours sleep before I headed to my knitting group at Panera . The group had grown a lot since I attended last and I had a great time. I knitted a baby hat for the doula program and even got a few donations. The UCSD doula program gives out hand knitted or crocheted hats to all the babies that are born w/ a doula and are in desperate need. So I appealed to my group and two people donated hats right then and some said they would knit/crochet some and bring them to the next meeting. Thanks for being so generous with your time everyone. I’m sure the babies and mommies will love them. Here’s a picture of the hats. One lady also gave me some booties. The dark one is supposed to be green but I couldn’t get it to photograph at all.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

After the meetup, I went to a yarn store that was closing down in Lemon Grove with four of the ladies from the group. Here’s the damage…

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Some acrylic yarn that I will use for a baby present in green. The pastel multicolor I’ll use for baby hats.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

And 5 skeins of Cascade 220. Waldo is a funny little dog who loves the smell of wool. My whole purchase came to $23. Everything in the store was 60% off. Unfortunately today was the last day of the sale. There was tons of stuff left but the lady in charge of the sale had a prior engagement for the rest of the week. I wonder where everything will end up. I can’t believe it, I got a sweater’s worth of wool for $14. I just love a deal. It doesn’t matter that I don’t have the time to knit the sweater. What’s important is that I have it for when I do have the time:)And although some consider this cruel and unusual punishment, here’s Waldo modeling some hats.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
This is the one I made today.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
And this is one made by Karla (I think that’s her name…. I’m really bad about names but I’ll try to remember for next time)  Sorry for the blurry pictures.  He was not cooperating.

And I got my five people to pay it forward to.   I don’t know what your getting yet or when but I’ll think of something fun.

5 Comments »

  1. Gail, your work as a doula must be tremendously rewarding. I wish my physical stamina were better…I’d love to train for that. I’ll have to settle for living through it vicariously through you. I’m so enjoying seeing how your career is developing. And your knitting. We miss you at TB though.

    Comment by Sharon — September 23, 2007 @ 3:27 am | Reply

  2. That was a cute cute birth story. Poor dad! It makes me appreciate my husband so much more, when our Evie was accidently born at home he was my midwife/doula/husband rolled into one and he did tremendously well.

    I wish I could find a 60% off sale!

    Comment by knittingnoob — September 23, 2007 @ 1:30 pm | Reply

  3. Sounds like a very rewarding side of nursing!

    Comment by Cindy — September 23, 2007 @ 11:53 pm | Reply

  4. I love the new look of the blog. Very classy.

    When I had my last son (after a truly horrible pregnancy), I had no sooner pushed him out than my husband commented, “Well, that wasn’t hard at all!” This from a man who moaned and complained for days about a pimple on his butt. That’s why the women have the babies.

    Comment by Suzanne V. (Yarnhog) — September 24, 2007 @ 2:11 am | Reply

  5. ya even my baby have such a cute nose, i enjoy touching her nose , often i feel i didnt get such a kind of nose for me.

    Comment by Rhinoplasty — January 24, 2008 @ 3:31 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

