A nurse who knits…

September 14, 2007

Yeah!!! Socks!!!

Filed under: Knitting,Life in general — yarnnut @ 7:25 pm

So I finally finished a pair of socks a few days ago. They are knit from Tofusies which is made of soybeans and chitin which is crab shells. Supposedly they are naturally antibacterial. I used my standard ribbed cuff. I think the next pair of socks I knit will have some sort of lace to keep me from wanting to poke my eyes out with my Addi’s. The cuffs are a bit shorter than I had wanted but I just couldn’t do it anymore. If you couldn’t tell, I have a touch of ADD.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I have had a few days off now and have been catching up on Meerkat Manor. Is anyone else addicted to this show? For those who are not in the know, it is basically a soap opera that takes place in the African desert with these cute Meerkats as characters. They have affairs on their significant others, raise babies, and have enemies. I have it tivo’d which is the greatest invention ever.

I went to the gym yesterday for the first time in about 2 months.  The time before that was on the cruise ship.  I lifted weights and my whole body hurt.  The irony is that before I fell asleep last night, I told Matt that I must not have worked out hard enough since I wasn’t sore.  Time to eat those words.  I am going to go for a nice walk today.  Hopefully, that will stretch out all my hurting muscles and get them used to more physical activity.  Women keep commenting that my butt will start to drop soon.  I’m starting to feel it!  Turning 31 is starting to do a number on my body.  I might actually have to start working out consistently to stay thin and healthy.

Well, nothing else that’s new to report. I’m still working at my Tele floor. Everyone now knows and my manager told me that she had already planned on me leaving and had hired a new traveler to take my place in Oct. well, it’s nice to know that the world isn’t going to fall apart. Unfortunately, it seems like I’m working every Wed that my group is meeting until I leave this job. And I work more than my fair share of Saturdays right now, so I can’t even go to my Saturday group. I’m going into KIP withdrawal!!!

2 Comments »

  1. I have mixed feelings about Meerkat Manor. I love those little critters, but sometimes the violence in their lives just gets to me. Meerkat #1 eats Meercat #2’s babies, then we see Meerkat #1 searching for her lost young and finding only a severed paw. I’m afraid to go back after that episode Sometimes I wish nature programming weren’t quite so honest.

    Comment by Sarah-Hope — September 15, 2007 @ 6:04 pm | Reply

  2. Greetings from another nurse who knits! Your socks are beautiful. I love the colors but I can see why you would be bored with the pattern.

    Comment by POPT — September 16, 2007 @ 11:10 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

