A nurse who knits…

August 13, 2007

A baby hat and a disaster

Filed under: Knitting — yarnnut @ 12:11 am

I have a couple of FO’s in case you couldn’t tell by my title. Take a look:

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I decided that I wanted to give a hat to all the babies that I help w/ at the UCSD doula program. Here’s a picture of my first one. It’s knit with a very soft yarn called Wendy. I made up the pattern and knit it from the top down using the magic loop method. I know it is hard to see but the bottom of the hat is seed stitch. I’m a bit worried that I made the hat too big as I don’t have a baby to try it. But I know that babies have unexpectedly large heads. I have quite a bit left over from the skein, probably enough for another hat.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Here’s the hat on a very unwilling model. It took me about 15 minutes to get him to sit still w/ doggie treats. After the photo session, he fled the scene and hid under the bed. It took 3 more dog treats to get him to come out. But he is very cute. Too bad he’s not one for clothes.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

And here’s the disaster. The Lucy bag. The knitting went fine but I’m an inexperienced felter and I found out what neglect can do w/ a felted object. Finished knitting Lucy a few weeks ago on a Saturday and decided to throw it into the washer. I set the washer on hot and put Lucy in a pillow case. I turned the washer on for the long cycle (I think 18 minutes) and let ‘er rip. When I came back 45 minutes later, Lucy was out of the pillow case and the strap was wrapped around the agitator. Ugh… It came out super felted and the strap felted in some places. Other places, no. And I don’t know how to save it. It turned out much smaller than I wanted too. I did some research on felting and found out that you have to watch the object during the felting process and stop it when it’s sufficiently felted to your tastes. Oh well… If there is anyone w/ suggestions, let me know. I am not showing the strap out of shame.

My friend Michelle flew down from San Francisco for the weekend. We went saw the Dead Sea Scrolls at the Natural History Museum in Balboa Park and spent a beautiful day yesterday walking. She is of the hot persuasion. Meaning, she’s not one for hot weather. She and Matt are on the same wave length on that one. Me… I love me a hot day. It makes me all sleepy and relaxed and I love walking in hot weather. I’m good unless I have to do any kind of exercising in it. The Dead Sea Scrolls exhibit was kept at a constant temp. To preserve the scrolls, the temperature had to be below 70 deg at all times. Michelle was happy. I, on the other hand, was not. But the scrolls were an interesting piece of history. If you can see it as it tours the US, it comes highly recommended by me. (Not that my opinion should matter much.) For those who live in San Diego, the scrolls will be in town until December.

On Friday, I did something that knitting friends do to their non-knitting friends around the world. I took her to a yarn store. I just couldn’t help it. She came during the annual balloon sale at Common Threads in Encinitas. While I tooled around and bought yarn, she became fascinated by the store. She ended up walking away w/ a set of size 10.5 circular knitting needles from Bryspun (which I’ve never tried. They look really nice though in case you were wondering), a skein of Rowan Plaid, and a skein of some new yarn from Berroco called Comfort When we left, she made me promise to teach her how to knit that night. I walked away with some Cascade 128 in Tuscany to make the Short Sleeved Cardigan with Ribbing from the Fitted Knits book. After seeing my friend with the Comfort, I got 3 skeins in Coppen Blue to make the Drop Stitch Lace tank from the same book. The Comfort seduced me so much that I got 2 more skeins to make baby hats for my doula volunteering, one in Rosebud (for the girls) and one in Spruce for the boys. How do some of you feel about color coding the sexes? I’m not really one for yellow but I don’t necessarily feel that I have to use pink when knitting for baby girls or vice versa for boys. What are your fav colors for baby knitting?

By the way, Comfort is a new yarn from Berroco that has mucho potential for me. It’s reasonable at about $5 per skein and machine washable/dryable. Gauge is 18 stitches/ 4″ for my knitter friends and 14 sc for those who crochet. I’ll knit a baby hat from Comfort and let you know how it holds up.

For those of you unfamiliar w/ Common Threads and their sale, you shop for your yarn.  Then when you’re done, you pick a balloon from the ones they have floating in the store and pop it to reveal your discount.  I think they offer a discount from 10% to 50%.  Of course, I get the 10% coupon which is still great.  But, my friend got the 40%.   Not that I wasn’t happy for her or anything… but still.  I was envious at her beginners luck at yarn shopping.

As for the knitting lesson, Michelle did really well. She learned how to cast on, knit, and bind off in the same night. She couldn’t wait until morning to start her first project. A scarf in the Plaid. She’s working on it now as we speak on her flight back. I’m glad I gave her something that she will be able to use in her down time. Poor girl… she has so much traveling to do. She’s going to the Philippines to visit family in two weeks. While she’s there, she’s going to Hong Kong for a few days of sightseeing and shopping. After she gets back from there, she’s going to Hawaii on vaca… lots of time on planes. Darn, I wish I was her.

3 Comments »

  1. Sorry about the trouble with the bag. I don’t think there’s a way to make it bigger again, but you should be able to hand felt the bits on the strap to even it out. Fill a sink with hot water, then immerse one unfelted area at a time and rub it while it’s under water. This should tighten those spots up to make them match the rest of the handle.

    Good luck!

    Comment by sarah-hope — August 13, 2007 @ 12:58 am | Reply

  2. Alternately, you could cut off the strap, felt it in the machine, and sew it back on. Or, if that doesn’t work, make a new strap, felt it, and sew it on.

    Comment by Suzanne V. (Yarnhog) — August 13, 2007 @ 4:42 pm | Reply

  3. Felting can be tricky…. Love your hat model!
    And how great that your friend is a new knitter!

    Comment by Octopus Knits — August 14, 2007 @ 12:23 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

