A nurse who knits…

July 29, 2007

I found another knitting group!!!

Filed under: Knitting,Life in general — yarnnut @ 5:28 pm

It’s so fun to knit with others. I found that out a last year in Michigan when I was fortunate to have a LYS w/in 10 minutes of me and tons of cool people to knit with at Threadbear. Hi to Dirty Sue, Sharon, and Kris .  I think that Laura, Emily, and Jean are blogless but if one of the three of you start blogging you have to let me know so I can keep up with what’s going on w/ you.

So now, I found two groups to knit with.  One meets every Wednesday morning at the Panera in Carmel Mountain Ranch.  Great group of ladies who are ADVANCED knitters.  One of them was my teacher from Michael’s 3 years ago.   There are a few beginners but several knit incredible projects up.  We talk about knitting techniques, classes, vacations… Very fun group.

The other one I found meets every Saturday morning at the Panera in Mira Mesa.  This one is a bigger group and I attended my first meeting yesterday.  I had a great time.  These knitters are a bit younger as a whole.  I met a professional mother, a CPA, a mother to be, and several grandmothers.   Fun group and I plan on going when I don’t have to work.  Next Saturday, these ladies are doing a yarn crawl in Encinitas and I’m so sad that I have to work that day…. hmmm… do you think my manager will buy that I’m sick???

My Lucy bag is on hold until Wednesday.  I want to show my mess up to my group and get some help.  I miss counted my bind off stitches at the top and am having trouble visualizing how to fix the problem.  I could probably just frogg it but that would annoy me to no end.  But I may do that today.  I started on the Two Toned Shrug from Fitted Knits, only I’m doing it in one tone.  So I guess I’ll call mine the One Tone Shrug or OTS.

I’m having a bit of trouble  getting some things returned from Alaska.  I had bought 2 Alexandrite rings in “preferred stores”.  Royal Caribbean promised to return anything that a customer isn’t happy with.  Needless to say, RC is not wanting to take back a $3k ring.  I bought the first ring at Diamond International in Ketchikan, AK.  I was told it was a great Alexandrite that was .78 carats.  It was set in a pretty setting w/ 1 carat of small diamonds.  It doesn’t change color that much but I was told that I couldn’t find an alexandrite w/ great color change anymore because the mines were exhausted.  So I bought it.  I was wrong.  I found stones w/ significant color change in the next port and was of course upset.  I talked to the shopping coordinator on RC and she told me that RC will take care of returning the ring to Diamond International and I bought a second ring b/c the shopping facilitator verbally and later in an email promised that the first one can be returned.  I was extremely happy with this ring until I got it appraised yesterday.  I was told that the ring appraised for $4825.  I got it appraised here in San Diego and at most the ring is worth $2100.  Now I’m upset again.  The appraiser told me that I should be able to return this ring because it was not disclosed to me that the yellow diamonds in the setting are heat treated.  My alexandrite at least is of good quality and changes color like it should.  It must be disclosed to the buyer that diamonds are treated.  Not disclosing such information is fraud.  So at least I have a legal reason for returning the ring.  The appraiser will get me the appraisal next week and I’ll contact Goodmark (seller of the second ring) next week.  I’ll let you know what the outcome is.  The gemologist told me that I can get a ring similar to the one I have made later if I chose to return my ring.

Hopefully, my vacation addled brain is healed and will serve as a lesson to others who are wanting to buy jewelry on a vacation.  Do your research ahead of time.  These jewelers will typically have a strict return policy meaning, you won’t be able to return it without a fight.  An appraisal w/in 1 week of getting home is essential.  Most places will only talk to you if you call them w/in 30 days of purchase.  I suggest no one buy jewelry from any store that they can’t go to easily.  If you buy from the Caribbean or Alaska, they know you can’t knock on there door.  And the headquarters are very squirmy.  I was told that I have to get an appraisal from an independent GIA certified gemologist who does not sell jewelry.  Almost all gem appraisers sell jewelry b/c they also have to make a living.  Don’t let impulsiveness tell you to buy expensive jewelry.  Especially when you are still paying off student loans.  Ugh… I have made an expensive mistake.

3 Comments »

  1. Oh, geez. Sorry about the bad jewelry-buying experience. I only buy gold for just that reason. I’m always afraid I’ll get taken if I try to buy gems. I hope RC stands by its guarantee.

    Comment by Suzanne V. (Yarnhog) — July 30, 2007 @ 4:30 am | Reply

  2. Great news on the two knitting groups – horrible news on the jewerly. Keep at it until you get your refund!

    I’ll make sure to add the Saturday group to my calendar – it sounds like fun!

    Comment by Susan Davis — July 30, 2007 @ 4:03 pm | Reply

  3. Sorry to hear about all the difficulty with the jewelry. Keep us posted on how things turn out.

    Comment by sarah-hope — July 31, 2007 @ 8:37 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

