A nurse who knits…

July 6, 2007

Hot days…

Filed under: Knitting,Life in general,Nursing — yarnnut @ 4:24 pm

It’s forecasted to be about 90 deg here today. Ugh… I’m heading to the beach to cool off a bit. The good thing about summer is that it’s only this hot about 3 days the whole summer. One funny thing about me is that no matter how hot it is, I hate the air conditioning blowing on me. Gives me the chills. And I can’t sleep w/ it on. When I lived in MI last year, I never turned on the a/c even when it was super hot and super humid.

I went to my second Hearts and Hands Doula orientation and I’m super excited to be starting this as a volunteer. Yesterday, we learned where everything is. I’ve always wanted to do something that I think will make a difference in the world and especially women. I still can’t get on the schedule to start attending births because I haven’t completed the volunteer process yet. They want me to do 2 TB tests, attend another orientation, get my ID card, get a uniform, and a ton of other things. Gosh… you really have to want to be a volunteer to do this. I think this is more work than I did for my other job. I have to get another TB test for work in August. I’m hoping I can get it done just once. Has anyone seen someone with an allergic reaction to the TB shot?

I scheduled myself to work on the 4th of July so I could get holiday pay.  (Hey, w/ this vacation coming up, I can use all the extra cash I can earn.) But my floor was slow.  4 nurses scheduled and 10 patients.  So they floated me to another tele floor, 4E.  This is a floor that pretty much gets everyone w/ tele monitoring.  I had a lady w/ atrial fib who was on oral meds and was waiting to go to a rehab unit, a guy who had chest pain and was throwing v-tach the whole day, and 2 deaf blind patients who wanted to get out of bed.  I had a sitter for one of them but not for my 102 year old pt.  She was so fragile and couldn’t follow instructions because she couldn’t hear or see what I was trying to tell her.  At the end of the day, I only had one patient.  So my assignment wasn’t so bad.  But there were some really sick people there.  Another nurse who usually works on my floor was up there too.  She had a patient who had awful wounds.  She told me that her skin looked bad on her initial assessment and it was really bad by noon.  The doc was called and he transfered her to the ICU.  I felt sorry for the patient.  Everytime I walked by her room, I could smell her wounds.  It smelled awful.  I hope she heals soon.

Still working on the Goddess top.  It’s slow going.  I’m at the initial shoulder shaping.  Lots of unusually instruction in this pattern.  You start w/ a provisional cast on and after the first 3 rows, you knit back into the first row.  After you finish 2 inches of the pattern stitch, you unravel the provisional cast on.  I was super scared to do that.  I’ll post a progress pic when I get a little farther along.  It’s almost embarrassing what I did since last week.  I have a feeling that this project will be spectacular but will take a long time.

Thanks for all the kind comments on my blue top.  I love it.  I haven’t started my shrug but it will probably be started to give me a break from the Goddess.

3 Comments »

  1. No good deed goes unpunished, they say. Getting a volunteer clearance to work at my kids’ school is equally difficult. I was at a meeting last year with the school staff (on an unrelated topic), and everyone was wondering why our volunteer hours have dropped 75% over the past four years. I think I probably wasn’t very diplomatic when I pointed out that they’ve made it so difficult to get a clearance that only a die-hard fool will go to the trouble. Interestingly, a lot of people in this area do have a positive TB skin test. Many of them are immigrants from countries where TB is still common, and most have been exposed to TB at some time, which is why they test positive. (I know this because it happens all the time at our school, which is about 50% recent immigrants.)

    Comment by Suzanne V. (Yarnhog) — July 7, 2007 @ 3:27 am | Reply

  2. Yuk…wound smell, I am quite familiar with it. Anyone who doesn’t work in a hospital would probably think that the conversation regarding some of our patients is gross or out of line but I know exactly what you mean. I work in occupational therapy so I also get to be up close and personal with my patients and it’s not always easy.

    The tank from your previous post is super cute.

    I let the nurses have the v-tacher’s. 😉

    Comment by Larjmarj — July 7, 2007 @ 11:31 pm | Reply

  3. It´s so interesting reading about your way to the doula business. It´s happening a lot here in Sweden in this area.
    I´m a nurse as well, got a Master in the Psyciatric Nursingfield.

    Comment by Ingela — July 13, 2007 @ 10:43 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

