A nurse who knits…

June 26, 2007

Not a knitting post…

Filed under: Knitting,Nursing,Travel — yarnnut @ 4:23 pm

I worked Wed, Thurs and the weekend so I basically didn’t knit. I did try to start Goddess from Stitch Diva. I haven’t seen this one on any of the knitting boards. I guess it’s not as popular as Sahara. But I liked it. Hopefully it comes out. I say try because there is a provisional cast on and a weird set up stitch and I messed up. So, it has since been frogged and I will try again today. I bought 5 skeins of the recommended yarn, Lang Opal from a vendor on Ebay for $4 a skein so this top will cost me about $20. Yeah!!!

I am trying to get my plans set for Alaska in terms of our shore excursions. We’re going to be sailing out of Vancouver and our first stop is in Ketchikan. It doesn’t sound like there is much to do in Ketchikan. It is the fishing village of the southeast. The main highlight is the totem poles made by the native alaskans. So we’ll be doing the museum tours. Then we’ll be sailing to Juneau which is the capital of AL. There is a big glacier called Mendenhall glacier. The tours that are offered by our cruise ship are ridiculous when it comes to booking activities. To do transportation to Mendenhall Glacier, you have to pay $42. I looked up Mendenhall Glacier on the internet and it costs $3 to get in. A guide book told me that transportation is readily available from the port. You can either take the city bus for $1.50 which takes about 1.5 hours or pay $12 for a special bus that takes 20 min. Either way, it’s still way less than $42. I know that the cruise ship needs to make money but that kind of profit is almost obscene.  Another stop will be at the Ice Point Straits.  We’ll be doing a float plane to the Glacier Bay National Park.  That should be the highlight of our trip.  Our last stop before getting to our last stop of Seward is Skagway.  We’re debating whether to do the Glacier Point Wilderness safari or the White Pass Rail.  The safari is a hike to the Davidson glacier then you take a canoe back.  The White Pass Railway we’ll get to see a variety of scenery like glaciers, mountains, waterfalls, etc.  The train takes you on a historic ride.  If you’ve been on either, please let me know which one to go on.  Or if you haven’t, which would you go on.

Since I worked so much, I of course have a few work stories to share.  It seems like we’ve been getting lots of drug abusers lately.  I had a very young alcoholic (32 years old) who was found in the bathtub unconsious with slurred speech and a numb right hand.  Imagine that.  His liver is toast though according the labs.  He had extremely high blood pressure because of his alcoholism and had tried to commit suicide the week before by overrdosing on his medication.  I didn’t get a 72 hour hold on him in time and his doctor let him go.  Poor guy, he was in extreme denial about his addiction.  I asked him if he wanted to harm himself or others and of course he said no.  I asked him about his overdose and he said it was an accident and a misunderstanding.  Not a suicide attempt but a stupid mistake on his part.  But honestly who takes 50 tenormin pills at once without intending to.

I had another guy who was found unconsious in his car.  Turns out he was positive for marijuana, amphetamines, opiates.  He did not discriminate.  The only one he didn’t have in his system is alcohol.  So he wasn’t responsive or following commands so the ER doc decided that he had to rule out stroke.  So he ended up w/ me.  This guy slept off his drug induced unconsiousness and was fine.

On Saturday, it felt like all I did was give out methadone, librium, and dilaudid.  My least demanding patient was my 98 year old woman who may have suffered a TIA.  She was discharged early in my shift and I was left w/ my 3 drug abusers.   It never hit me how prevalent drug abuse was until that day.  I was left almost as exhausted as if I had 3 extremely sick people instead of 3 babies.  I know they have a sickness but they didn’t belong w/ me.  Drug abuse is not my specialty.  But then the day ended and I got to discharge 2 of the drug users.  When I was discharging my heroin addicted pt, he got a phone call.  He said he couldn’t say what he wanted but he told the person on the other line to say the list out loud because his nurse was in the room and he’d say which one he wanted.  Hmm… my instincts told me that he was picking out what he wanted when he got out of the hospital.  The other one was still there and he said that he would still be there when I come back to work on Thursday.    Keep your fingers crossed for me that I don’t get him again. The funny thing is that none of these men thought they had a problem.  Absolutely amazing.

4 Comments »

  1. I couldn’t do it. I have no patience with people who willfully ruin their own lives and leave other people to pick up the pieces.

    Comment by Suzanne V. (Yarnhog) — June 26, 2007 @ 8:49 pm | Reply

  2. If you are finishing in Seward, and driving to Anchorage, Exit Glacier (on the Kenai Peninsula) or Portage Glacier (nearer to Anchorage) are both easy stops (Portage is right on the way, you can’t miss it.)

    Now you know the truth about travel in Alaska. Buy local books as souvenirs. Much cheaper than stupid T-shirts.

    You shoulda tripped and accidentally hung up that guys phone. Like you want him as a repeat offender.

    Comment by bets — June 27, 2007 @ 9:09 pm | Reply

  3. i did the same cruise about 10 yrs ago and i don’t remember what city it was but i took a tram to ?mountain top then hiked down. it was so neat to see the different types of terrain in just one hike.

    our cruise went from anchorage to vancouver and our bus made every stop on the way so there weren’t too many people getting on the ship at once. we missed our dinner!

    it is a lovely trip, tho, so enjoy!

    Comment by susan — June 28, 2007 @ 11:33 pm | Reply

  4. Hi

    Very very good site! You are doing great job.

    Bye

    Comment by sopitikoj — September 8, 2007 @ 12:53 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

