A nurse who knits…

May 29, 2007

Turtleneck Tube Vest

Filed under: Knitting,Life in general — yarnnut @ 7:48 pm

I started this project last night while watching a DVD. This pattern can be found in Fitted Knits by Stephanie Japel. So far it’s an easy rib pattern that makes for mindless knitting. However, check the errata. The front portion has a typo in the increases which can make for a frogging session during a movie. I spent about 1/4 of a foreign movie frogging back my tube. Which when you have to read subtitles can be a disaster. Progress pics or maybe an FO will be posted at the end of the week.

“Amorres Perros” translates to “Life’s a Bitch” according to the Netflix description. I thoughly enjoyed it even though it was kind of a depressing movie. It takes place in Mexico and there are 3 separate stories that are connected by a car accident. Each of the main characters has a dog. A young man has his dog “fight” to get money, a rich model/mistress has a little pet dog, and an older man who lived a hard life has a group of loyal dogs. From this description, the movie sounds a bit out of wack but trust me, it’s a good movie that deserves a rental.

I got a letter from a collections agency much to my surprise last Friday.  Of course since it was a holiday yesterday, I didn’t get any info.  I called this morning and found out that a bill from my fender bender in September wasn’t paid.  (A woman in the parking lot at work rammed into my car and I went to the ER to get checked out cause my back/neck hurt).   Anyway, the physcian’s bill wasn’t paid even though it was submitted by the hospital by Geico, which was the insurance of the woman who hit me.  The collections agency told me that if I didn’t pay it, it would go on my credit record.  Who needs that??? So I paid the $230 this morning and put a call into Geico.  Of course they still haven’t called me back.  I hope they won’t ignore me but I’m worried that they won’t reimburse me because I’ve signed that letter stating that I won’t sue Geico for anymore money.  I had to sign it to get them to pay the ER bills.  Errrr… hopefully they’ll do the right thing and pay the bill and I won’t have to chalk it up to bad luck.

One of my good friends had a baby last Thursday and he’s the cutest thing.  I got to see him being born and I got a play date yesterday.  My friend got induced on Wed night and I went into visit on Thursday afternoon.  I was under the impression that the labor was progressing slowly and I didn’t think I’d be there for the birth.  But 45 min after I stepped into the room, she went into active labor/pushing and I ended up seeing the baby born.  We were joking that I should open up a business where I would visit w/ a pregnant woman who wanted to have a baby soon.  haha… I put women into labor.  One of my other friends was talking to me on the phone towards the end of her pregnancy.  She ended up going to the hospital 15 minutes after getting off the phone with me.  I might make a great doula if this record holds up.  LOL….

3 Comments »

  1. That was my first knit from this book. I love my tanks!

    Comment by Adrienne — May 29, 2007 @ 7:53 pm | Reply

  2. Oooh, someone on the cotton-ease yahoo group just finished that one up. It’s so pretty. Can’t wait to see yours. What are you using for it????

    I had to LOL at Netflix translation of the movie’s title. “Amores Perros” means “Dog Loves” or more appropriately “Love of Dogs” which seems to fit better with the description that you are giving rather than their “Life’s a Bitch”.

    I always get a laugh when we see a foreign movie that’s in spanish. The translations from spanish aren’t always right on. . . . . .

    Comment by knittingnurse — May 29, 2007 @ 7:57 pm | Reply

  3. Opps… I meant “Love’s a bitch”. LOL

    Comment by yarnnut — May 29, 2007 @ 8:37 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

