A nurse who knits…

April 18, 2007

Studying again…

Filed under: Uncategorized — yarnnut @ 2:27 am

You’d think that my studying days would be over when I passed the NCLEX but I have a whole other set of competencies that I have to master in about 2 weeks.  Then I test again in June.  Only after this will I be considered a competent nurse on my floor.  I think nurses need to be extremely educated about all things that can go wrong w/ their patients.  I am just suffering from a bout of procrastination.  I’ve been trying to study all day.  So far, I’ve just skimmed the study guide.

I have to learn the treatments needed for emergency situations for my first test on 4/28.  Things like what to do when you’re pt has chest pain, hypoglycemia, symptomatic hypotension, life threatening dysrhythemias… I have had patients who have become hypoglycemic, hypotensive, and have had CP but no dysrhtymias.  That’s what I’m struggling with.  Guess it’s back to the books to learn my EKG strips!

I have been knitting a bit.  I’m getting sick of the Airy wrap so I’ve been knitting the Lucky Clover wrap.  I’m on the left front.  I love the clover pattern.  It’s so easy to memorize and I love the Petite Manderin yarn.  The back and the right front are done.  Just the left front and the sleeves to go!  I’ll post a pic next time.

Anyways, I have to work tomorrow.  I better get dinner arranged.  Matt is remodeling the kitchen so everything is all unorganized.  We have to order the countertop.  Darn, I had an assignment to do today for our project and I forgot what it was.  Oh well… I’m sure I’ll hear about it when he gets home.

1 Comment »

  1. Good luck with all your studies. I know it will pay off in the end.

    Comment by adrienne — April 18, 2007 @ 10:44 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

