A nurse who knits…

April 7, 2007

I spent the day at the city dump

Filed under: Uncategorized — yarnnut @ 10:47 pm

Matt and I were demolishing our kitchen today. I snuck away to write this post and check email while he’s taking the sink out of the base. Shhhh… he’d kill me if he knew I wasn’t watching him take it apart. lol… We’re going to put new cabinets in next weekend and are hauling the old crap to the landfill.

The Miramar landfillis a very interesting place. Tons of cars are there dumping their old stuff, discarded plant materials, and recycleable items there. I would think that no one would want to go to the dump but there was actually a line to get in! I was totally in shock. Then you take this winding dirt road to dump your stuff. Then it’s a free for all. I would think that you needed to put your waste in a certain line but people were basically getting in the back of their trucks and just shoving the stuff off. Amazing. I wonder when the landfill is going to be filled.

Yarnzilla is having a 20% sale off everything. I browsed and was soooo tempted. There is Cascade 220 as well as some Mountain Colors that I’m currently salivating over but I decided to be good. I have so much yarn I can pretty much open my own yarn store. So… here’s my chance to enable others. If this post has helped you acquire more yarn for your stash, let me know. I can live vicariously thru you. haha…

Because I’m supposed to be playing Tool Time Girl today, there is no knitting content. Maybe next time.:(

1 Comment »

  1. Wow! Redoing the kitchen–I am impressed.

    The dump (to use the term I grew up with) up in SF actually has an arts residency attached to it. Artists can apply and then are given space to do art with found objects, etc. Melissa has a fantasy of applying for that at some point in her art career.

    Sarah-Hope
    http://www.whatifknits.com

    Comment by sarah-hope — April 9, 2007 @ 5:24 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

