A nurse who knits…

April 4, 2007

I was rejected:(

Filed under: Uncategorized — yarnnut @ 11:55 pm

I took the trolley this morning from Fashion Valley mall to the Court House so that I could perform my civil obligation of jury duty. I waited several hours to get called to a trial and finally got seated as juror #4. The jury questioning took about 1.5 mind numbing hours and then right before lunch, the lawyers began dismissing people that they were “uncomfortable” with. Guess who got called first? Me!!! I couldn’t believe it. I figured I wouldn’t serve on a trial but to be dismissed first… I almost took it as an insult but then I ran out of there so I could do something more fun.

The 3 hours before getting called weren’t so bad. I met a jury duty buddy, H. She and I had a great conversation and made plans to have lunch together which I scrapped after learning I was dumped from the jury. I knitted the cuff of a sock. I broke my one project rule for today. I figured it would take too much effort to bring the Airy Lacy Wrap so a portable sock seemed much more practical. The security people even let me bring my scary looking addis into the waiting area with no problems. I also read a study guide for a test I have to take in a few weeks.

Since I haven’t posted pics in a while, here’s what Marilyn’s Not So Shrunken Sweater looks like these days.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Blurry pic of the shell button I got from Joanne’sPhotobucket - Video and Image Hosting
The crocheted ruffle
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
A better pic
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
And me in it.

I just have to sew the buttons on and weave in a few ends. . I was on the hunt for the perfect buttons and was beginning to give up. I went to yarn store after yarn store and couldn’t find any buttons that were worthy of the sweater. The owner of Two Sisters and Ewe in La Mesa suggested Joann’s and I finally got over there yesterday and found these shell buttons. 50+ buttons for $2.99. What a deal! I will never forget that Joann’s has awesome buttons. I’ll try to do the last of the finishing tonight so that I can block it. Yeah!!!

Here’s a pic of my current WIP, the Airy Lacy Wrap from Fitted Knits.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I am at the cabled edge but I messed the cable up. I’ll frog it back to the purl border and restart the cables. I am determined to get the cable right. I don’t know why I’m having trouble with it. I’ve done cables before and this is almost ridiculous that I’m having so much trouble with this. I wonder if there’s an error. hmmm…

Well, enjoy the pics. Susan and Suzanne, let me know if you want to get together on Sunday to knit.

3 Comments »

  1. Your Marilyn came out great and it is a good length, too. I’ve done some cables in the past, but never on mohair. Either there are errors that aren’t discovered yet or it’s just difficult with the type of yarn. I’d love to do a knit together soon, but Sunday I’ll be doing the Easter thing. Any other days work for you?

    Comment by Susan — April 5, 2007 @ 3:55 pm | Reply

  2. That sweater looks great – the buttons are perfect! And I love Airy Lacy Wrap, although mohair isn’t my favorite thing to work with. I can’t wait to see how it turns out.

    Comment by Katherine — April 10, 2007 @ 3:14 pm | Reply

  3. Wow your lacy wrap around sweateris looking really nice. I am waiting for this book to arrive and have been doing a little research. Thats how I came across this post.

    Could you possibly clue me in on what type of yarn the pattern calls for and how many skns for an XL?

    Good job! Keep up the good work:)

    Comment by Marisol — April 20, 2007 @ 10:12 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

