A nurse who knits…

March 3, 2007

A beautiful day…

Filed under: Knitting,Life in general — yarnnut @ 1:55 am

I got a phone call from my friend Nicole a few days ago. She told me that she was heading up to the UP of Michigan to go snow mobiling. I thought about her today while I was walking around in 70 deg sunny weather. It’s only been about 6 months since I’ve left MI, but all that snow and cold seem like a lifetime away. I should have taken a pic of the ocean for my friends in MI, but I forgot my camera. I visisted my LYS which is about a block from the beach. My excuse was that I needed to get longer size 3 Addi Turbos to make knitting my Marilyn’s Not So Shrunken Sweater more comfortable.

I didn’t do much today. I enjoyed my 2nd day off today. I get to work the weekend which is supposed to be gorgeous out. Oh well. I found out another bummer this week. My SO will be heading to Japan again for two weeks. So, I’ll miss him. 😦 Maybe he’ll get me some Japanese yarn. Any suggestions for him in terms of yarn, LYS, or notions that can only be had in Japan?

I’m watching the news as I blog this entry and the tornado in Alabama is on. Crazy weather is hitting the nation… Storms all over the place. How horrible. I forget about all this inclimate (spelling?) weather. I can’t imagine living in a place that gets tornados. Everyone else in the nation seems to be deathly afraid of earthquakes in CA. We get them about once every 10 or 20 years. Tornados seem to hit Kansas, Nebraska, etc all the time. I got freaked when we had tornado warnings in MI. My heart goes out to everyone who is hit by the tornado or is sitting out rain or snow.

Here are some progress pics. Nothing is finished. I thought I finished the Raspberry socks but they turned out to be too small. So I’m going to frog the pair and reknit them. Here’s what my Lucky Clover looks like so far.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
This one is a close up of the lace. It’s very easy to remember.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Here’s what the back looks like. I’m knitting it out of Petit Mandarin in what I thought was a “Clover Green”.
For those of you who are wondering about what my boyfriend refers to as the “Blanket that comletes our love”, here’s a picture. This thing is huge. It now measures about 6′ x 6.5′. I still have one more skein of this horrible stuff. The blanket seems neverending but as I said I’m on the skein countdown.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
I also took some pictures of my MNSS sweater. It’s a top down raglan that is eventually knit in the round. I’m still at the shoulder part. I have 2″ more before I start putting stitchs on holders for the sleeves.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Last but not least are the buttons that I bought for a sweater that I will give my friend Missy. I’m a horrible secret keeper and she’s already seen the sweater so I feel ok about putting the button pic up. Sorry it’s so small. I couldn’t take a close up pic that was in focus. I should take a photography class. I’m a horrible photographer.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Have a good week everyone. I’ll probably have some good stories from work to share next week. I had a few patients last week that I’ll probably see again. I had a young male pt who has an aggressive brain tumor. He’s had a crainiotomy today at 10 am and I thought of him. I also had a young female pt with moyamoya disease. Gosh… most of my patients are older with strokes or cardiac problems. I haven’t had too many young people with serious conditions. When I see them this young, I think about my own health and life. I mean for this to be mostly a knitting post so I’ll stop right here. I’ll probably need to write about my patients in my next post to get it out of my system.

2 Comments »

  1. by golly, i think we are knittin’ the same sweater!! i’m using the top down cardigan v-neck cardigan pattern from knitting pure and simple in lambs pride yarn, color sable. and you?
    we miss you on wednesdays at tb. take care and i love reading about your patients.
    dirty sue

    Comment by susan — March 3, 2007 @ 5:17 pm | Reply

  2. The Clover sweater is gorgeous! What pattern is it?

    I know how you feel about the giganitic blanket–but it will be done soon and looks cozy.

    Cheers!

    Sarah-Hope
    http://www.whatifknits.com

    Comment by Sarah-Hope — March 4, 2007 @ 11:41 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

