A nurse who knits…

November 13, 2006

I ran out of yarn… sniff…sniff…

Filed under: Knitting — yarnnut @ 5:01 am

I decided that tonight would be dedicated to finishing. I had two projects that required a tiny bit of knitting, weaving in of ends and seaming. The first one, the Somewhat Cowl, turned out ok. There are a few rough patches in it but I learned a lot from this project. For example, I joined yarn in the middle of the sleeve and pulled the yarn too tight resulting in a tiny hole in the sleeve. Now I know to add the yarn in a seam of some sort to hide it. I used Elann’s Lara in corel. I bought this yarn years ago from someone in Knitters Review who wanted to get rid of it. This yarn has quite a nice feel but shows all mistakes. Still for less than $10 I have a sweater.

Somewhat cowl

Yarn: Elann’s Lara

Needles: Addi Turbos, size 4.

I also tried to finish my Ms. Marigold which has been languishing for about a month. I just needed to finish the ribbed neckline and add the crocheted edge on the arm holes and the ruffled edge. I was really hesitant but plunged ahead with the neckline. That left me with about 10 yards of yarn left. So I decided to plug through and cross all my fingers and toes that I would have enough. I had barely enough to crochet the edging on one arm hole! I sent an emergency email to Knit Picks. I need just a little bit of Elegance in burnt orange to finish my sweater. I’m going to be sooo sad. This has never happened to me. Usually after completing a project I have 2 balls left over on average.

Here’s an example:

I finished the Ruana all the cool kids are knitting a few weeks ago and I even wore it to a wedding last weekend.

The ruana all the cool kids are knitting.

Yarn: Mountain Colors Merino Tape

Color: I have no idea. Varigated blues, purples, and some violet.

Needles: Denise size 9.

Pattern: Oat Couture Ruana

This was a really nice pattern. Very simple that lends itself well as a beginning shawl or a project for mindless knitting. One only needs to know how to increase, decrease, and yarn over. No purling necessary! I bought 3 balls of the Merino tape for a total of about 900 yards. I followed Rob’s advice on choosing what version of the pattern to knit. The pattern gave directions for knitting the ruana with worsted, chunky, and super chunky yarn. Since I didn’t want it too long, I bought a worsted weight yarn but followed directions for the super chunky version. The result was a very wearable shawl that drapes very nicely. Problem is, I only used 1.5 balls of yarn. Now what to do with the other ball and a half? Maybe a tank top!

Here’s two more picture for your viewing pleasure. knitting-group1.jpg
This one is of a few members of the Wednesday knitting group at Threadbear in Lansing. They gave a cheer for me when they found out about me passing the NCLEX. Here’s another one with Laura posing with her sock. laura-and-sock.jpgI’m so glad she’s got the sock done. I encouraged her to try sock knitting. Prior to knitting this sock, she had been knitting scarves. So yes my friends, you’re second successful project can be a sock. Way to go Laura! I’m sure Sharon (who’s sitting next to her in the picture) gave her lots of expert advice.
Well, I’ll let you know what Knit Picks says. Otherwise, it’s back to frogging and trying to figure out what to do with the yarn… What an anticlimatic end to a project!

1 Comment »

  1. Yep, there we are managing to carry on without you!! But you ARE missed. And isn’t Laura’s sock great? I did help, but she didn’t need a lot of handholding. Good call on your part.

    Comment by Sharon — November 13, 2006 @ 6:27 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

