A nurse who knits…

October 26, 2006

The NCLEX is over!!!

Filed under: Knitting,Nursing,Nursing School — yarnnut @ 10:27 pm

For now anyway. Hopefully I passed. I scheduled my test at 8 am for this morning. I got there at 7:35 and was ushered into the test room w/in 5 minutes. Yikes. I didn’t even have time to drink my latte that I had bought 5 minutes before at Starbucks. Nothing was allowed in the room with you except a key for the locker they assigned you to put your things in and your drivers license. That you needed anytime you needed to leave and reenter the room.

So, I sit down and begin taking the test. I did get a lot of pharm questions but I also got a lot of prioritization questions. I had others but can’t remember their broad categories at this moment in time. They give you a white laminated sheet of paper to write on and boy did I fill that up. I decided that my “slow myself down” strategy would be to write the letter choices for each question down and play the elimination game. That didn’t slow me down very much though. I tend to have the pick it and move on strategy. I figure if I don’t know it as soon as I read the question, then it’s not worth thinking about. But that wouldn’t work with this type of test. You can’t leave any blank and you can’t go back to a question once you’ve answered it. So… I averaged about 1.5 minutes/question. Decent amount of time spent on a question. I work thru 75 questions just like this, thinking the whole time that as soon as the computer lets me take a break, I would so that I could go to the bathroom. And then poof! The computer screen goes blank. That means one of two things, I did spectacular on the test and the computer knew that I would make a competent and safe nurse but had to ask me 75 question cause that’s the minimum necessary to pass the NCLEX. Or that I sucked so bad that it knew at 75 questions that I had no chance of passing the NCLEX. I’m hoping for the first scenario.

I was done at 9:30. What to do with myself now??? I decided to destress by visiting Common Threads I picked up some sock yarn and another set of size 1 circs for magic loop knitting.

Knitting stash

Click the photo for the whole purchase.  One ball is for a pair of socks for me, the other two are to make a pair for Matt.  Yeah… Sock yarn.  I spent the rest of the morning knitting with the owners of the LYS and a nice lady who comes to Common Threads quite a bit.  I found out that a bunch of knitters meet on the 3rd Sunday of the month to knit together.  I think I’ll go to the next one.  Yeah… a knitting group.  I’m excited.

2 Comments »

  1. I’m betting on the spectacular scenario. And yay for knitting groups! 🙂

    Comment by Sharon — October 27, 2006 @ 2:14 am | Reply

  2. congrats on finishing! bummer about ditching the starbucks. i wore a suede blazer thingy and they made me take it off! i froze the entire time. it’s over now. enjoy!!

    Comment by crankygrrrrrl — October 27, 2006 @ 6:04 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

