A nurse who knits…

October 24, 2006

I love learning new things

Filed under: Knitting — yarnnut @ 7:24 pm

Yesterday I picked up a sock that hadn’t been knitted on for at least a month.  The last time I touched it was in the ER when I was waiting to be seen.  I lost a needle while I was there bringing me down to 3 needles which is a no go for knitting in the round.  I tried hard but couldn’t pick up all the stitches I needed to pick up for the gusset.  So… a while back I bought size 0 and 1 addi’s in 32″ length to do magic loop.  But I never put the sock on the needles because I was scared.  Scared that I wouldn’t get it and scared that I bought long circs (which I hate for regular knitting cause they get in my way.) for nothing.  But I looked at that lonely sock on my dpn’s and decided to just go for it.  Turns out I had nothing to be scared of.  It’s just like knitting on DPN’s except you have to move the cable back and forth between your knitting.  So… if anyone is fearing magic loop, don’t.  It’s not as bad as it looks.  But I still love my DPN’s.  I just hate haven’t to buy more when I lose just one.

1 Comment »

  1. i tend to use 2 circs when travelling, but i really dig dpns. the knits just seem to fly off the needles! anyway, i somehow ended here blogsurfing. i like your blog! but…how strange is this….i am a new(er) nurse; it’s my second career…i knit, have a blog…AND i’m filipina, too. {cue twilight zone music} happy knitting! and i hope you recover from your accident soon!

    Comment by crankygrrrrrl — October 25, 2006 @ 6:32 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

