A nurse who knits…

September 8, 2006

Nascar racing

Filed under: Life in general,Travel — yarnnut @ 11:22 pm

I spent Sunday at the Nascar races in Fontana, CA. It was fun. It was hot, hot, hot. Did I mention hot??? On the news later that night, I found out that it was 105 that day just outside and 128 on the track itself. It was a dry heat… but at that temp who cared???

Even though I sweated my butt off (and I’m usually Miss Freezing Cold), I had a good time. Matt picked up 2 extra tickets so that my friend Elsie and her son could go with us. Elsie and I sat in the air conditioned Sony tent drinking cold beer while Matt and Malcolm went down to the track before the races. Matt is really good with my friend’s son and I’m so glad that he is. He’s going to be a really good dad one day. In case you were wondering, Sony sponsored the race. Unfortunately, the race car they sponsored finished near the bottom of the line up.

I’m experimenting with pictures and found out that the “Using thumbnail” option doesn’t work for Mozilla.  Anyone else have that problem?  It works fine in IE though.  So I guess I’ll use that for right now even though I had IE.

nascar-040.jpgHere’s me and Matt at the races.  They had a sand castle thing.

Here’s Malcolm and some sea lions.  A rescue group brought two sea lions all the way to Fontana to raise money for rehabilitation.  Now, I love animal charities as much as the next person but I thought it was cruel to make these animals perform in a tiny tank in 100 + degree heat.  None the less, Malcolm loved it.

Malcolm and the kissing sea lions

Still knitting.  I’m super slow these days cause I’m busy settling in my new job.  I actually have to work Saturday, Sunday, and Monday in addition to going to class next week.  Yikes!!! I hardly have time to study.  I’m trying to get my Ms. Marigold done before I cast on for anything else.  The second sock of the Lovely Lacy sock is coming along.  I’ll probably finish it next week.  Now that I understand the picture thing, I’ll post more knitting pics!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

