A nurse who knits…

June 22, 2006

Vintage sizing???

Filed under: Uncategorized — yarnnut @ 9:33 pm

Don’t ask me how I stumbled on this one. I’m supposed to be studying right now and I’m surfing the net! Again!!! Oh well, at least I am learning something.

Like that in the 1950’s , I’d be a size 12. I’m a size 0 or 2 in today’s sizes. Sooo I guess we’re fooling ourselves into thinking that we’re thinner than we really are. Check out this size chart Gosh, I feel fat. I don’t know how much that is going to motivate me to stop eating out so much. I think that’s my main problem. That and drinking beer. Alcohol will put the weight on ya.

In other news, I’m a star!!! Rob from Threadbear put me in his newsletter. Here I am modeling the Lucy bag.

Of course I had to buy the pattern. Luckily I have tons of yarn that will felt. What color to knit it in though???

My Baby Albert that I’m working on as a present is almost done. The left front and sleeves are all that are left. I’ll post a pic as soon as I’m done.

In the frog pond, my Clapotis. I was well into the straight rows when I miscounted and dropped a stitch in the wrong place. What happened you ask? Yarnovers stop the dropped stitch from ruining the piece. And well, I ruined the piece. I ripped it back and I’m starting over. I decided since I messed it up, I’m going to change the dimensions. The pattern written as is makes a huge wrap. And since I got a bulky wool, it’s not good. So I’m going to make it a bit smaller so I don’t look overwhelmed when I wear it. Which will not be anytime soon since it’s soooo hot in MI.

It’s true what people say about humidity. I’ve happily walked outside in 90 deg weather in San Diego without cursing the sun. But here, I can hardly breathe. It feels like the air is saturated with water. Which is not a good thing. Give me dry heat any day. At least there aren’t mosquitos too.

1 Comment »

  1. i agree with the lucy bag. i have like, 6 different colors of lamb’s pride. which to pick from???

    Comment by Ruth — June 23, 2006 @ 1:56 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

