A nurse who knits…

March 12, 2006

Spring break in cloudy San Diego

Filed under: Uncategorized — yarnnut @ 1:18 pm

I spent last week in San Diego. Unfortunately it was colder in San Diego than it was in East Lansing, MI. Oh well, at least I wasn’t cold, I got to see my friends, family, and SO, and got my mind of school for at least a week.

I of course forgot my camera so I had to rely on my mom and boyfriend to take pictures. My friend Karen wanted to check out San Diego and I think she might like to stay. Just a hunch… She found out that SD has a significantly larger population of mid 30’s men than Michigan who are single.

So… what did we do??? A whole bunch of eating. East Lansing just doesn’t have the variety and quality of restaurants that we do in San Diego. Thai, Indian, Japanese… All of these types of “ethnic” restaurants are either absent or extremely lacking in East Lansing. I hear that Ann Arbor has lots of good restaurants but unfortunately I don’t get down there too often. We went to my fav fish taco place, Wahoo’s. They have grilled fish taco combos with rice and beans for under $5! What a deal. We also went to afternoon tea at Hotel Del Coronado. Unfortunately, the only person with a working camera was my friend Elsie who brought her son with her to tea. She’s going to email pics sometime soon. The Hotel Del has a fabulous Sunday afternoon tea. They even serve champagne which is unusual at most afternoon tea places.

My friend went out on a date with a guy she met on Tuesday so I spent a quiet evening with my boyfriend. But while he was at work Karen, my mom, and I hit the booze trail. Actually, we went winetasting in Temecula but we got pretty sloshed. Good thing my mom volunteered to be the DD. Here are some pictures of this escapade.


In the first picture, second row, we took a picture with out server JR from Wilson Creek Winery. The photographer was a fellow taster who loved moms and bought us chocolate port shots which are in the previous row. We told this man that we were going to the Wein’s family winery afterwards and he gave us his card to let him know how we liked it. None of us gave him a call but it was pretty funny to for this guy to flirt with the three of us.

So… we spent the rest of the week just showing Karen around. She says she’s definitely going to look for a job here. I wonder how many of my classmates are going to show up on my door step. Haha…

I have no finished knitting pictures. I did finish knitting Panta but have yet to seam it. If I was smart, I would have used a provisional cast on. I did make progress with Grandma’s shawl and the Somewhat Cowl though. Nothing to post pics about…

I do have dog pictures though. Some from Halloween and others just fooling around. I love the pic with Wendy in the little “fur” cap and she’s kinda winking. This one makes me laugh every time I look at it.

Back to reality now… I have a ton of errands to run this afternoon like grocery shopping and buying new binders for my classes. Gosh, who knew that I’d be buying so many binders. And they are all full so I can’t even reuse some of them. I am also going to try to look at an NCLX review book that I bought back in December. The pages have not seen the light of day yet.

1 Comment »

  1. Great pics and I’m envious of the wine tasting! Love the “kid” pics and welcome back to the mitten state :-)–>

    Comment by Red Dog Knits - Kristi and Otis — March 12, 2006 @ 6:16 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

