A nurse who knits…

August 1, 2005

Time is passing me by…

Filed under: Uncategorized — yarnnut @ 8:43 pm

I can’t believe how fast the days are flying by. I’ll be on the road to MI in about 2 weeks. My boyfriend and I will be driving out there together and he’ll be flying home alone:( I’m going to miss him a lot but am really excited to be starting my new and temporary life. I’m not looking forward to driving. That is going to totally suck.
I am trying to map out our course. I got driving directions from mapquest but I haven’t figured out where to stop along the way. I want to stop at fun touristy spots and just sites in general. I did find that Zion National Park is beautiful and I plan on making a stop there. And I found out from some KR friends that Independence Pass in CO is a hair raising experience. It’s really hard to find stuff online. I guess I’ll have to haunt some travel blogs to find some neat things to see. It’s not like I’ll be driving cross country all the time so I want to make the most out of this trip. If anyone has any suggestions for stuff to see when I go across Utah, Colorado, Iowa, Nebraska, or Minnesota/Michigan, let me know.

Another good thing. I actually won something. Imrtistik of I Dream in Handpainted Color was giving away free Interweave magazines to knitters who gave her their names and which issues they wanted. I think your choices were Summer and Fall 2004. So I asked her to put my name in for the Fall 2004 issue. That’s the one with the Flower Basket Shawl pattern that I’ve been salivating over for a while. And she alerted me that I won yesterday. Yeah!!! I’ve never won anything in my life and I’m happy to get a magazine with such nice patterns. Take a look

I love the following designs. Who knows if I’ll ever get around to knitting them.

  • Tartan Jacket
  • Classic Slant Cardigan
  • Touch Me Cardigan- However, it calls for 17 balls of pricey Touch Me yarn from Muench. I think it retails for around $15/ball. I won’t be making this one .
  • Keyhole Top
  • Flowerbasket Shawl- Of course!
  • Silkroad Cardigan
  • And the Lace and Tuck Ensemble

That’s quite a few patterns to love! Thank you Imrtistik… I’m eternally grateful. I’ve been looking high and low for an issue of the fall 2004 with almost no luck.

I got my issue of Vogue Knitting over the weekend. Not sure if there’s something that I want to knit yet. I have to let the designs settle and make themselves known to me. All in all, my favorite knitting magazine is Interweave Knits. I will probably re-subscribe with my new address in MI. Vogue Knitting has run it’s course for me. I’ll just buy an issue here and there when it calls for me.

Anyone hear about The fat man walking. He’s walking from San Diego to New York over the course of six months in an effort to lose weight. He was walking in temperatures of over 100 degrees throughout the southwest. He’s truly an inspiration and as soon as I don’t have to study for this online class, I’m working out!

2 weeks left in beautiful CA!!! What am I going to miss the most?

3 Comments »

  1. You are so lucky getting that issue of IK. Check out what chicknits has done with the Spencer sweater from that same issue at http://www.chicknits.com/galleryw2k2k3.shtml
    And, you are moving to Michigan? You might think of adding the gauntlet glove to your list of projects. I would love to get my hands on that pattern. May have that issue floating around here somewhere, must look for it.
    Where are you going in MI? I am from northern MI and love it there. Would go back in a heartbeat. There are more GOOD LYS in Traverse City than I’ve found in the whole state of MO.
    Marjorie

    Comment by Marjorie — August 2, 2005 @ 10:07 am | Reply

  2. Do you or anyone you know have AAA? You can get what they call TripTiks which will map out your route and show all the touristy or cool places to stop along the way. TripTiks can be requested by anyone who has a AAA card on their website or at an office. It only takes a day or two to get them from the website. Have a safe trip!

    Comment by Karen — August 2, 2005 @ 1:06 pm | Reply

  3. Hey there. I used to live in Northern Cali and I moved to Rhode Island. I don’t miss it, but maybe that’s cause Marysville gets over 100 degrees for 6-8 weeks straight from june to august. Anyway, thanks for reading my blog and good luck with the move.–>

    Comment by Cambria W — August 4, 2005 @ 10:13 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

