A nurse who knits…

June 29, 2005

Too much yarn

Filed under: Uncategorized — yarnnut @ 1:26 pm

I bought a lot of yarn that I shouldn’t have. Here are my offenses:

  • Yesterday I ordered some Lace weight wool from http://www.handpaintedyarn.com/ in Roanoke, which is a dark brown. I’m planning on using that for the Bird’s Nest shawl from Folk Shawls. Spent around $20 for 2600 yarnds of lace wool.
  • I won an eBay auction for 2 balls of Fortissima Cotton Sock Yarn in Black. I paid $11.50 including shipping. So I guess I’ll try my hand at sock knitting.
  • I was surfing the net last night and found the Honeymoon Cami knit along and was inspired to knit my own. I booked over to Michael’s to get some Lionbrand Microspun. I’ve always wanted to try it but was put off by the reviews. There were some finished Cami’s in the Knit Along that looked great in Microspun. I bought 3 balls of french vanilla. Maybe I’ll start this weekend. Spent around $10.
  • I’m in another auction where I’m currently the highest bidder for some Paton’s Kroy sock yarn. I bid $6.50 for 2 skeins. Wonder if I’ll win that one.

Thank goodness that’s all I bought. Under $50 for 3 projects. I’d say that’s a great deal. Unfortunately I have enough yarn for at least 50 projects. But as I rationalized to myself, I don’t have any yarnto make any summery knits… I need to be able to wear something before it snows:)

No finished projects this week. I do think I’m on the home stretch for the Angelina jacket. I’m on the neck and shoulder shaping. After that lace edging and I’m done. The worst of the torture is over. White Lies Designs really does have some wonderful looking patterns. Executing them is something that I don’t look forward to. I don’t know if I’ll ever make another one because of the enormous amount of fine knitting on tiny needles. But who knows. Maybe it’s like birth. You forget about the pain after your first look at your creation.

1 Comment »

  1. Hey there! You can never have TOO much yarn right?! I ordered a small amount of yarn this month and a large amount of knitting books. I joined a crafting book club and got 5 popular books for only $30. (that includes shipping) I only have to buy 1 more in the next year. Pretty good deal.
    I also got a book for my birthday and I bought three more with an amazon.comgift certificate from my Secret pal. So in total I got 9 books and only spent $40 of mine own money. I really cleaned up this month! Now I have to decide on which project to do first. I won’t need another book for at least a year! I always say that about yarn too.
    Thanks for visiting my blog! Have a wonderful holiday weekend. =0)

    Comment by Laura — July 1, 2005 @ 5:34 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

